Jodi Taylor Series Reading Order

Here's the full reading order for the different series written by Jodi Taylor

The Chronicles of St Mary’s - click on the image for more information from Amazon.


 * indicates a digital only Short story - these are also available in print in the anthologies The Long and Short of It,  Long Story Short or The Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

Just One Damned Thing After Another

The Very First Damned Thing* - billed as a prequel but better read after Just One Damned Thing After Another to make more sense.

A Symphony of Echoes

When a Child is Born*

A Second Chance

Roman Holiday*

A Trail Through Time

Christmas Present*

No Time Like the Past

What Could Possible Go Wrong?

Ships and Stings and Wedding Rings*

Lies, Damned Lies and History

The Great St Mary’s Day Out*

My Name is Markham*

And the Rest is History

A Perfect Storm*

Christmas Past*

An Argumentation of Historians

The Battersea Barricades*

The Steam Pump Jump*

And Now for Something Completely Different*

Hope for the Best

When Did You Last See Your Father?*

Why Is Nothing Ever Simple*

Plan For The Worst

The Ordeal of the Haunted Room* 

Another Time Another Place 

The Toast of Time* 

A Catalogue of Catastrophe

The Good, The Bad and The History

Christmas Pie*


The Long and the Short of It – an anthology of short stories.

Long Story Short – the second anthology of short stories

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year - an anthology of Christmas Stories


The Time Police Series - spinoff from The Chronicles of St Mary's

About Time
Killing Time by Jodi Taylor Santa Grint

Doing Time 

Hard Time

Saving Time

About Time

Killing Time

Santa Grint*


Frogmorton Farm Series



The Nothing Girl

Little Donkey*

The Something Girl

Joy to the World*

Storm Christopher*


Elizabeth Cage Series



White Silence

Dark Light

Long Shadows 


Regency Romance



A Bachelor Establishment





  • Adam Datoo

    I am wondering where the new Time Police book fits into the reading order with the Chronicles?

  • Sue

    Why can’t I get the second book in the Elizabeth Cage series (Dark Light) in Kindle format?

  • Amie

    The other thing that is funny about this list is that it says, “the reading order for the three book series” I think it is a few more than three!

  • Anousjka Selders

    Hello, I’m loving the ‘Chronicles of St Mary’s’ series and have used this page to make sure I read the books in order.
    Could I list point out that there is a minor spelling mistake in one of the titles mentioned on this page?
    It says: “What could possible go wrong?”, but the word ‘possible’ should be ‘possibly’.
    Thanks and keep up the good work, Jodi.

  • Heather Paisley

    I think that there might be an error on this list. Roman Holiday doesn’t work between A Second Chance and A Trail Through Time. It would have to take place between Max at Agincourt and her encounter with the time police. Trying to avoid spoilers!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.